Fried green tomatoes

Happy Saturday!!! I hope you beautiful people get a chance to relax and enjoy this weekend with family and friends. Today, I wanted to share my fried green tomato recipe. These are such a delicious snack. I was inspired to do these because my mother is such a fan of these tasty beauties! The last time I had them were about three years ago at Dixie’s Kitchen (a soul food restaurant), and they were great. I was shopping a few days ago and saw the most beautiful green tomatoes, and I knew I had to try to make them. I gathered up some of my favorite spices, cornmeal flour and made my own mixture they turned out great.

Image

What you’ll need!

2 large green tomatoes 

1/2 cup of all purpose flour

1 large egg

1/3 cup of milk

1/3 cup of cornmeal

1/3 cup of bread crumbs

olive oil (enough to fill your skillet about an inch thick.)

seasonings of your choice

Step 1

Slice your tomatoes.

Step 2

Mix your eggs and milk together in a bowl big enough to dredge your tomatoes in.

Step 3

Mix your dry ingredients together. The flour, cornmeal, breadcrumbs and your seasonings; on a large enough plate where you can dip and coat the tomato slices. I used salt, pepper and creole seasoning.

Step 4

Dry the cut tomato slices with a paper towel.

Step 5

In a large skillet pour enough olive oil where it is at least 1/2 inch thick. Let your oil get hot.

Step 6

Dip and coat your first tomato slice in the egg and milk mixture.

Step 7

Coat the first tomato slice with the dry ingredients, coating each side and the edges.

Step 8

Place the coated tomato slice in the skillet.

(Continue steps 6-8 for each slice, making sure the tomato slices aren’t touching in the skillet.)

Step 9

Cook each side until golden brown.

Now, these green delights are complete, place over a paper towel and plate. Let the excess oil drain, and take your first first bite once they have cooled. I like green tabasco sauce and hot sauce with mine!! I’m a spice girl!!!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Hope you try these yummy flavorful tomatoes!!! 

Message me and subscribe if you enjoyed this post!!!

 

Love ya, Muah!
Christian 

 

 

Leave a Reply

